Thursday, 31 October 2013

Four Bretwalda Authors on the Shortlist for Prestigious IEA Brexit Prize

Four Bretwalda Authors on the Shortlist
for Prestigious IEA Brexit Prize

Bretwalda Books is delighted to announce that three of its authors have made it through a tough selection to get on to the short list.
The winner of the €100,000 prize, run by The Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA), will be announced in February for the best plan to leave the EU and create a more prosperous and free United Kingdom. 
Submissions were invited from individuals, groups of individuals, academia and corporate bodies such as consultancy firms, law firms, accounting firms, think-tanks and investment banks. The competition's judging panel, Chaired by The Rt. Hon Lord Lawson of Blaby, former Chancellor of the Exchequer, chose the 20 best submissions for the final round.

Rupert Matthews, Editorial Director of Bretwalda Books, commented:
"We are delighted that of the 20 shortlist submissions from around the world, no less than four are by Bretwalda Books authors. This is the most high profile award for political writing that will be announced in 2014 and we are proud to have such a high proportion of shortlisted contestants working for us."

“Our authors are:
“Rory Broomfield, who is Deputy Director of The Freedom Association and Director of the Better Off Out campaign. Rory has worked for a number of prominent Conservative Members of Parliament and small businesses.
“Dr Richard North is a political researcher and analyst, blogger and author. He is a former local government official, and came through trade politics to work for Westminster MPs, then spending four years working in the European Parliament.
“Robert Oulds is Director of the Bruges Group. Since 2002 he has also served his community as a local government councillor in a London borough.
“David Campbell Bannerman is Conservative MEP for the East of England. He was first elected to the European Parliament in June 2009. During the Irish Peace Process, David served as Special Adviser to Sir Patrick Mayhew, then Secretary of State for Northern Ireland.”


Notes for editors

1 - For more information about the Brexit Prize, visit
2 - Editorial Director Rupert Matthews is available to interview by phone on 01737 356197 or on 07721 455944.
3 - The Judging Panel are:
·       Nigel Lawson (Chairman), The Rt Hon Lord Lawson of Blaby, former Chancellor of the Exchequer
·       David Starkey, British constitutional historian and a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London
·       Prof. Philip Booth (Facilitator), Institute of Economic Affairs and Cass Business School
·       Roger Bootle, founder of Capital Economics, a Specialist Adviser to the House of Commons Treasury Committee and an Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries
·       Tim Frost, a governor of the LSE and director of Markit and Cairn Capital
·       Gisela Stuart, MP for Birmingham Edgbaston and editor of The House Magazine
·       Prof. Martin Ricketts, Professor of Economic Organisation at the University of Buckingham
·       Ruth Lea, Non-Executive Director of the Arbuthnot Banking Group
·       Dr. Stephen Davies, Institute of Economic Affairs

No comments:

Post a Comment